PDA

View Full Version : wood which way

menewfy
01-18-2007, 08:07 AM
Is there a better way to load the wood and what i mean is should I load it with the grain front to back or side to side, has anyone noticed if it matters?

BobHill
01-18-2007, 08:37 AM
When you cut (vector), the machine works in both directions as well as crosscutting in both directions. When you carve (raster) the machine works cross wise in both directions, while the belts move front to back (when facing the cover). So there is little advantage with the grain and can be the source of some of the roughness on some work.

Bob

menewfy
01-18-2007, 09:00 AM
ok so I guess it is a good a time as any to admit I am new at this can you please explain vector and raster I dont know what either mean.

And how do i know which i will be doing?

is there a benefit to doing it one way over the other?

And I think what youwere trying to say is it really does not make that much of a differrence on way or the other.

BobHill
01-18-2007, 09:27 AM
The beauty of it is, whether raster or vector, the CW knows the difference and does all the "hard" work in determining what to do.

Without going into graphic technicalities in great detail, vector is like taking a pencil and drawing a line without lifting the pencil from the paper and making an object (one at a time) by lines only. Now think of the pencil as being a cutting bit and just add the ability to lift and drop the bit up and down as it travels along each object (line/path). The pencil (bit)may move left or right, but the movement of the paper (wood) travels forward or back according to how the pencil has to lay a line (like a plotter does as an example).