PDA

View Full Version : Rock Chuck vs. Carve tight? in the need of an upgrade

Sallen1215
04-24-2011, 02:13 PM
Im in the need of upgrading a machine im buying that has the QC on it. The machine would come with several QC bits and i know that the CT you have to abandon the old bits for the new press fit bushings, but it looks as though the RC i can just use the old bits in the new chuck. im new at this so if anyone can help a young carver out i would appreciate it.

Stephen

Kenm810
04-24-2011, 02:57 PM
I'm very happy with the Rock Chucks and their Sleeves for now, they fit every Bit I've been using,
including the few Bits I have with pressed on sleeves

AskBud
04-24-2011, 04:52 PM
Im in the need of upgrading a machine im buying that has the QC on it. The machine would come with several QC bits and i know that the CT you have to abandon the old bits for the new press fit bushings, but it looks as though the RC i can just use the old bits in the new chuck. im new at this so if anyone can help a young carver out i would appreciate it.
Stephen
Stephen,
Most of the bits have steel shanks and may be used in the new CT Assembly (chuck).

The current LHR exception(s) are the 1/16" & 3/16" Carving Bits, as well as the 1/8" Cutting Bit, which have a Carbide shank. Their findings are that the carbide will not allow for enough compression to firmly hold the bit in place. Therefore, LHR has placed a pressed on sleeve on these bits.
AskBud

DocWheeler
04-24-2011, 06:40 PM
Stephen,

Like KenM810, I have one of Ron's chucks (a fellow Buckeye) and like it.

There are a few things to consider. As Bud said, the CW chuck does not hold carbide shanks (CW says that no chuck does). The CW chuck requires sleeves on some bits that are not re-usable I believe (extra expense). The CW chuck is lighter (a little less wear?) The CW chuck requires two wrenches I think.