PDA

View Full Version : carving on slabs

captbuck
04-20-2011, 10:01 AM
I do a lot of rustic style work in my shop and I want to carve a design on a piece of hickory slab on the side the bark was removed. Of course it is slightly convex and is "bumpy". It is narrower and thinner on one end. Now, I can run the slab throught the planner and flatten an area large enough for the carving but want to leave the edges and ends for that rustic look. Can somone help me with info on how to set this up. Oh, as you have probably already figured out, I am a newbie. I have had my machine for only a couple of weeks. Thanks, Buck

quarrydesigns
04-20-2011, 10:10 AM
I did something similar for a couple of christmas presents.. I carved initials into the rough side of a piece of barn wood. Used the jointer to flatten on face and get the thickness as uniform as possible then set the carve up making sure to set enough depth to allow for the the high / low spots. Carved with no problems I'll post a pic as soon as I can get to one..

Quarry Designs

Heres a link to where I posted the project in the gallery

http://forum.carvewright.com/showthread.php?17048-First-finished-projects.&p=144025#post144025

Old Salt
04-20-2011, 10:11 AM
You need to make a sled to mount your board on .
There a many sled types and tips and tricks have some to copy from.
You can search for sleds and go to tips and tricks.

AskBud
04-20-2011, 10:36 AM
I do a lot of rustic style work in my shop and I want to carve a design on a piece of hickory slab on the side the bark was removed. Of course it is slightly convex and is "bumpy". It is narrower and thinner on one end. Now, I can run the slab throught the planner and flatten an area large enough for the carving but want to leave the edges and ends for that rustic look. Can somone help me with info on how to set this up. Oh, as you have probably already figured out, I am a newbie. I have had my machine for only a couple of weeks. Thanks, Buck