PDA

View Full Version : Jewelry Box / Birthday Gift

quarrydesigns
04-20-2011, 08:03 AM
Jewelry box / Birthday present wood is American Chestnut reclaimed from and old barn, I call this design the Tumblehome Box due to the shape of the sides. I have produced several of these boxes with plain / routed tops this is the first to have a carved top.

Daniel Smith
Quarry Designs Wood Working
www.quarrydesignswoodworking.com

gregsolano
04-20-2011, 11:48 AM
This is a really nice box, did you do the box joints on the CW or with router or table saw?

atauer
04-20-2011, 11:52 AM
This is a really nice box, did you do the box joints on the CW or with router or table saw?

I would like to know that as well. That is a great looking box Daniel.

quarrydesigns
04-20-2011, 12:15 PM
The sides and joints are done on router table, I've been doing this same box for a couple of years so I have a box joint jig that I made to do the joints, the side profile is done with a panel raising bit.

Hope to do some more carved / personalized tops this spring.

Daniel

gregsolano
04-20-2011, 12:41 PM
You can do the side profile on the CW as well, I have never done the joints on one. I always use my dovetail jig or my box joint jig as well. Here is pic that shows a box with the sides done on the CW. I also attached the MPC's which are divided into the two sides and the lid.

SharonB
04-20-2011, 12:49 PM
Daniel....I like the design you put on the top...simple yet eligant.

quarrydesigns
04-20-2011, 12:53 PM
The way I do the box, I cut the sides 8 3/4 x 2 1/2 and the ends 6 3/4 x 2 1/2 cut the finger joints using the router table / shop made jig, glue up the box, then after about an hour for the the glue to set I use the panel raising bit a tall zero clearance fence and a backup block to profile cut all 4 sides usually taking 3 passes to get full depth. The total time on the router is about 15 minutes for a complete box.