PDA

View Full Version : New to the world of Carve Wright

Marc Herring
03-17-2011, 11:40 PM
I'm very new to the Carve Wright, and not too mechanically inclined. I was doing a project and looked over at the carvewright and the flex shaft was smoking where the trash tie twisty meets the arc guide. I'm guessing that this is not a good thing. I paused the machine and am now wondering if I need to perform some maintence like lubrication??? What and where should I get for this process...and, can I do this while the machine is on pause, I'm only half way through the project and don't really want to loose it.

I'm sure this knowledge is written down somewhere, but I thought I'd take the opportunity to ask a question, and say hello.

Marc

Digitalwoodshop
03-18-2011, 12:35 AM
Marc,

A few machines have slipped through without proper lubrication of the Flex Shaft.... And the Twist was too tight too.... Lube with Chain Lube with Molly...

Lots to read on the topic in Tips and Tricks.... And use the " " on each side of the search term. "flex shaft lube" and you will find tons of stuff....

A new flex is $75.00 plus $15.00 Shipping and not covered under Warranty.... I would Quit now and get the lubrication problem fixed... Finishing the project could cost you a new shaft....

And you can start the project over and either let it run and air cut the cut areas or do a masking in designer.... Lots to read on that in tips and Tricks... This is a Pilot Error as it is recommended in Tips and Tricks to Lubricate a NEW Flex just in case....

If the Flex got pinched then the inner spring damper can cause a problem.... Metal to metal heat.... I had that..... And you can OVER Lube the shaft and the lube gets into the top Truck and into the High Speed Spindle Bearings and make them go bad.... so do your homework before you finish this project....

Good Luck and WELCOME...... How do you like that.... Advice at 1:30 AM East Coast Time....

AL

AskBud
03-18-2011, 12:40 AM