PDA

View Full Version : Carving acrylic for lithopanes. You'll like this story but it's long

RobertDD
03-02-2011, 07:58 AM
Posted last week that I was having carving Cast Acrylic. In the last month I replaced the brushes in my cut motor and then started having all kinds of trouble with the machine throwing up a Y stall code 0303. I was trying to carve acrylic, the machine would start, then stop but pressing enter would continue the carve, but I was still melting the acrylic? So I threw away my acrylic and purchased new CAST acrylic, was told (even buy the company that made it as I personally meet with a rep at their factory) that I probably had extruded acrylic instead of cast, I am a sign man by trade and was using old sign acrylic that I had. My cost on new acrylic was $160 for 4 x 8. Ok so new material, new brushes, still stalling and melting? So Y stall could be bearings in the Y motor, so I have now replaced them with the company suggested on the forum, but I got the sealed bearings instead. While I was in there I did a complete cleaning of everything. I also wrapped black electrical tape around the clear plastic on the Y motor that houses the white plastic gear, hoping to keep some of the dust out of the gears again. Why this wasn't done before I don't know? Now also while I was into cleaning everything, I thought I would check the cut motor brushes to make sure that they seated properly, as I know that that could be a wear in thing and maybe my cause of the starting and stopping when I first start a carve. I split the motor housing open brushes fine, and I thought since I was in there, I believe Al suggested to check the Cut sensor at the LED screen, no reading so the magnetic pickup must be bad, but I did have the cut motor all apart for cleaning when I first installed the brushes, so having machine version B I have the magnet surrounded by the full plastic. What if this magnet was reversed? What would this do? So I tried it. Now at the LED screen in senso