PDA

View Full Version : Contoured Edge Carving

SpiffyDog
01-08-2007, 02:00 PM
Sorry if this has been covered, but I've looked and cannot find the answer.

Can anyone tell me how to do contoured edge carvings such as in the picture provided from CW? It looks like it has a domed surface, too.

Jeff_Birt
01-08-2007, 06:44 PM
I'm guess a surface was applied to the edges to get the bevel. I'll have to try it and see what happens.

bassnaholic
01-08-2007, 06:50 PM
Im new at this. I also was trying to find a way to do profile. I uploaded a file to and will try and attach it here.
What I have done is create 4 trapezoids on a rectangle. I had them separated and after I got them all configured I joined them together as one. You will have to adjust the profile for each side. You should be able to open the file and see what Ive done. As for the rest of the top. The demo that is on the website shows how to paste the designs so you will not lose the depth of your profiles.
Hope this helps . If you come up with more please post it so I may see what you have done too.
Thanks!!!

Brett

Jeff_Birt
01-08-2007, 07:28 PM
That is really wierd! It automatically puts a radius on the edges when drawn in that manner? Does not do it on a single trapizopal shape only when joined as you say, very neat.

SpiffyDog
01-08-2007, 08:58 PM
Great technique, Brett! :D
I've made some additions and now we're real close. Still attempting to apply a pattern to the edge.

bassnaholic
01-08-2007, 09:42 PM
From what Ive read and saw in the demo the pattern will have to be placed first then the profile goes on. They have to be grouped somehow. The grouping will be the key part. Ive tried some but with patterns in the corners its a challenge to figure out the grouping order. Looks like it could be alot of copy and pasting to get the right order. The demo did say that in order to get the patterns to sit on the profile right that they must be oriented to the profile which makes sense.