PDA

View Full Version : Head won't lower, clutch just clicks

Hank93
12-18-2010, 08:29 PM
My machine is only 2 days old and I can't get the head to come back down, the clutch is just clicking. What lube do I need to use on the guide post? Also I have read that I may have to screw my handle in, that some machines are sent with them not screwed in all the way and this can correct the problem. How do I do this? What do I need to remove to access this area to see what the problem is?

Sorry for all the questions but as you can tell I am a noob and a little behind the learning curve right now.

Thanks again....

henry1
12-18-2010, 08:59 PM
My machine is only 2 days old and I can't get the head to come back down, the clutch is just clicking. What lube do I need to use on the guide post? Also I have read that I may have to screw my handle in, that some machines are sent with them not screwed in all the way and this can correct the problem. How do I do this? What do I need to remove to access this area to see what the problem is?

Sorry for all the questions but as you can tell I am a noob and a little behind the learning curve right now.

Thanks again....
Check to see if your head is level one side to the other were the post are should be same distant on both side

henry1
12-18-2010, 09:02 PM

Thanks again....
go to this post
http://forum.carvewright.com/showthread.php?16395-head-gets-high-on-one-side-only&highlight=level+head

Deolman
12-18-2010, 09:58 PM
Most of us as noob's cranked the head up too high. Look at page 55 for ser. nos. A or B, page 46 for Ser. nos. with a C, of the hardware manual. Look at vertical lockup.

Digitalwoodshop
12-18-2010, 11:04 PM
Hoping you found the answer in the User Manual.... It has a picture too..... A very common New User Pilot Error...

If you crank the head too high you need to prime the threads to get it to come back down.... the hole in the jacking shaft inside the right side of the machine is for turning the shaft....