PDA

View Full Version : Pricing Carvings

Kazuale
11-28-2010, 07:08 AM
I want to make signs for school fundraising and was wondering how people charge. Is it by the minute plus material and design time? If so, what would be a suitable per minute charge that would cover wear and tear? Thanks,

Ike
11-28-2010, 02:29 PM
Kazuale, I have a sign shop and I charge by square foot, in case you don't know how to figure board feet. It is the thickness X the width X the length divided by 144. I.E. 1" by 8" by 24" = 192 divided by 144 = 1.3 board feet.

Anyway most sign makers charge by the board foot this price includes your labor, material and tool wear. Now most well established sign makers charge $75.00 to $100.00 a sq. foot. Now I have been making signs for 30 years and charge a min. of $35.00 to $75.00 a square foot. Simple signs that don't require too much in finishing $35.00 the more detailed the higher the price. I hand rout and use my CW, but before the CW I hand routed all my signs.

If you rather charge by time I would think it would be easier to charge by an hourly rate rather then by minutes. I would set a shop rate of no less of $50.00 an hour to include design and carve time. Then with material I would charge the customer the cost of the board. Also if you plan to do this as a business you should get a resale license to be able to get your material tax free, but will need to charge tax.