PDA

View Full Version : New and need help

richardp
11-09-2010, 06:42 PM
Im new to wood carving and need help I purchased the eagle clock project using 3/4" oak,I carved the front of clock with not problem started the back and about half way through the cutout for the clock movement the 1/8" bit broke just below the adaptor. I have watched the videos and tried to read all of the tips checked the head pressure andeverything I could think of and I know I missed a lot. I decided to reduce the cut pass depth, clicked on edit cut out and checked box max pass depth, the value box turns red it will accept the number I put in, the accept box is not highlighted and clicking ok it will not save the number I entered. I do not know wht I'm doing wrong. I have about 20 hours on the machine.

Thanks for the help

dbfletcher
11-09-2010, 06:58 PM
Can you post a picture of the board you actually carved? That should give us many insight in to what probably went wrong.

Digitalwoodshop
11-09-2010, 11:07 PM
So I am thinking you have a Carve Region for the Clock Recess Area and it is RASTER CARVING it.... AND expects you to use the 1/16th Carving Bit... YOU install the 1/8 inch Cutting Bit (WRONG BIT) that cannot stand the quick side motion cutting and it snaps off....

Now if you made a bunch of VECTOR Lines to have the 1/8 inch Cutting Bit or even the 3/8 inch end mill bit, you could cut the recessed area for a clock.

I make a bunch of clocks.... I only did one clock cutting the hole in the back with the Machine...

It is much simpler to do the clock front and have it drill a .35 hole THROUGH with the 1/8 inch Cutting Bit then in a Drill Press use the 3.25 Bit from Clock Kit to cut the recess area.