PDA

View Full Version : Learning how to use your CW/CC

Ike
10-11-2010, 07:10 PM
I know this is very elementary and I know as new user 4 years ago I bought a CC and instead of reading the manual I started using the machine. I thought I am a some what experienced woodworker and sign maker I can learn as I go. That was my first mistake

Every time something went wrong I would call LHR and they would always help, but I seemed to not listen as close as I should have. Mistake number 2, then instead of trying learn or listen I would exchange my CC and get a new one. I did this with 3 machines, the first CC there was reason to do so, but not the other 2. So instead of listening or reading or learning I opted to voice my opinion upsetting others only hurting myself......mistake number. Strike 3 I was out!

What did I care I had a Shopbot and a K2 CNC, that I never used $10,000 for a SB and $4,000 for a K2 and $1599.00 for my CC. I sold the SB the K2 is still unused and sits on my bench and 1CC and 2CWs later I am still using my CWs!

Why the long story? The reason is I sent my CC in for repairs when needed. I listened, read the forum and learned how to use my CW! That included using the designer and how the CW works and proper maintenance. Learning the part names and the function of the parts. Plus not being afraid to work on my CW. I use my CW for signs I make at fairs on the spot along with hand routed signs and if my CW has an issue I know how to fix it!

So to all those who have just bought this great machine read the manual and this forum. You will learn knowing how to operate and maintain is the biggest part of using the machine! I am still learning from others like Al (digitalwood) Ken (Kenm) Bud (askbud) Floyd (fwharris) Brandon (liquidguitar) Terry (TerryT) and many more I can write several more paragraphs!