PDA

View Full Version : Is Centerline Text Possible Inside a Carve Region Area?

vsman79
10-01-2010, 03:23 PM
Good afternoon,
I'm pretty new to CarveWright and it's software but have been able to do some pretty cool, albeit basic small sign work so far. Can someone tell me if it's possible to use Centerline Text within a carve region area? Or is Raster the only option within a carved out section?

Thanks all!

Gerry

atauer
10-01-2010, 03:31 PM
At this point in time, its not possible to add Centerline to a carved region. The software won't allow for it. Several different customers have done different methods for working around this, with pretty good results.

You are not limited to raster in a carve region. I myself have done a few projects using Outline within a carve region. The key is the depth setting of the text and the carve region. Your depth for your text has to be a little deeper than the depth of the carved region to get it to show up.

vsman79
10-01-2010, 04:39 PM
Thank you very much Alex. Trying Outline never crossed my mind. I would have figured it'd work along the same lines as Centerline. I'll give that a try. Thanks again!

Gerry

Kenm810
10-01-2010, 05:30 PM
vsman79,

If you have a piece of scrap wood laying around,
you might try Merging the Raster text subtractive
with a little Draft to see how it looks.

Here a mpc file to play around with --- look at the depth of the carved regain and the Text

Capt Bruce
10-01-2010, 08:12 PM
I used Additive raster text on a domed carve region to emphasize the text. Just another concept when we cannot apply Centerline. Carved in oak to protect the letters from chipping. 5 inches tall for reference.

Digitalwoodshop
10-02-2010, 12:01 PM
Here is a work around.... This method should be used with caution.... Since you are lying to the machine and telling it the board surface is at the bottom of the carve region and your bit could hit the sides of the carve region moving to position.