PDA

View Full Version : How to cut out letters?

stoltz
09-22-2010, 11:54 AM
I have searched, but no luck. I looked for Lettering, cut out letters etc.
I am sure it is something I am overlooking. I am fairly new to the machine.
I would like to cut out letters...like the ones you would hang on a wall.
Can anyone suggest how to do this? Maybe some instructions?? Or, direct me to a link if it is already done. I just couldn't find it.

Thanks,
scott

AskBud
09-22-2010, 11:59 AM
I have searched, but no luck. I looked for Lettering, cut out letters etc.
I am sure it is something I am overlooking. I am fairly new to the machine.
I would like to cut out letters...like the ones you would hang on a wall.
Can anyone suggest how to do this? Maybe some instructions?? Or, direct me to a link if it is already done. I just couldn't find it.

Thanks,
scott
Drop down to my signature, below, and click on the "Download" section.
There, you will find a Zipped AVI lesson on "Text Cut Outs".
It may give you the help you seek.
AskBud

stoltz
09-22-2010, 12:27 PM
Bud,
I don't have the same options when using the cut out tool. I can only flip, hide or accept.
In yours, you can set tabs, depth etc. Am I missing something?
Thanks

stoltz
09-22-2010, 12:29 PM
Bud,
I don't have the same options in my cut out tool. I can only flip, hide or accept. I can't set the tabs, spacing, height, or anything else that I see in your cut-out control.
What am I missing?
Thanks,
Scott

cnsranch
09-22-2010, 01:24 PM
Stoltz - Try this

pic 1 - enter text on Designer's board
pic 2 - highlight text, select "outline patterns"
pic 3 - delete the text, not the outlines
pic 4 - select all outlines, then "cut path" - Flip the cut path, enter the number of passes you want to take per cut, tabs will automatically be placed.
pic 5 - there you go

AskBud
09-22-2010, 02:49 PM
Bud,
I don't have the same options when using the cut out tool. I can only flip, hide or accept.