PDA

View Full Version : some patterns you can use

goz
12-03-2006, 11:15 AM
I just posted this in the techniques area by mistake. These are 3D models that I created then rendered with depth mapping at 32bit

Greybeard
12-03-2006, 11:26 AM
Hi Steve. Nice. Could you give a bit more detail about "depth mapping"?
Is this a tool in a particular piece of sowtware, and if so, which ?
John

Edit -just found your other posting where it gives the answer :oops:
Is the "depth mapping" tool a feature exclusive to your cgi software, or does it exist in other, perhaps down market, 3d programmes ?

goz
12-03-2006, 11:44 AM
There are quite a few 3d modeling softwares that will allow for rendering a depth image.

zbrush...Cinema 4D....Maya

The image is created from the actual 3d poly model geometry.
My day job is creating 3d digital product by either modeling or using a 3d white light scanner (breuckmann optotop). Wish I had one at home but the price tag is well over 100.000.00 GW's(aka dollars). I also use an rp (rapid prototyping) machine with a resolution of 25microns. Fun stuff but not really in the range for the garage woodworker.

I have used jpegs of the marine corps logo and the harley logo to create some really nice carvings for gun cabinets and bars. Just google images and pick the highest res then load the image to favorites.

Greybeard
12-03-2006, 12:39 PM
Thanks Steve.
What I'm looking at are what you might call workarounds for people on limited budgets( and probably limited graphics experience).
Given that the final import to Designer is a greyscale bitmap image, I'm trying to put together a method that can use simple node manipulation in drawing programs like coreldraw, along with the contouring/blend tools that also exist, to get from graphic logos that may use perspective or shading as representations of depth to a low bas relief version.