PDA

View Full Version : Money is No Object.....What do You Buy?

spalted
05-21-2010, 09:07 AM
OK I'm not in the money is no object camp, but I was curious to find out if you could buy any software to enhance your design possibilities what would you buy.

I have:

Designer, pattern editor, and the STL importer

Gimp for: photo editing

Inkscape for: I haven't figured out why I have this yet

Blender for: jeez I have no idea how to use blender!

Irfanview for: Screen shots and quick photo viewing

Aspire: Which I am still learning to use

My wish list includes Corel or Illustrator, but I don't have a clue which one would be best yet.

I think a 3D modeling program of some sort would be very nice to have ( if I could use it)

My shop is pretty well equipped but I always want more.

A bigger band saw, an overarm pin router, and a Festool Random orbit sander are an my wish list, oh and a bigger power feeder for the shaper would be handy too.

A bigger shop is probably number one on my wish list though.

I better quit dreaming about spending money and go make some.

atauer
05-21-2010, 09:15 AM
LOL.

You sound like I do!

There are a lot of things that I would like to be able to buy, such as a good CAD/CAM software package, but can't at the moment. Too many other priorities.

For me it would be:

Full shop with everything you can think of...
Better designing PC
a good 3D modeling program
and if I could buy it, the knowledge to use all of the above.

Don't get me wrong, I am good in the shop, but as with everyone and everything, there is always room for improvement.

c6craig
05-21-2010, 09:15 AM
Sounds like you have a pretty well equipped shop.

I guess my wish list would be a bigger shop (of course) and better dust collection system. For my skill level, the tools I have right now are fine.

Craig

SteveEJ
05-21-2010, 09:46 AM
If money was truly not an issue I would keep the CW BUT would add:

Aspire (I have VCarve Pro and Turbo CAD)