PDA

View Full Version : New User With Questions

Imacman
03-26-2010, 04:57 PM
Hi I Am new here, i've just downloaded the software and i am just learning it. I am using a mac, and I am A graphic Designer with Extensive Illustrator & Photoshop BG (...lol Like thats gonna help...lol ) I am interested in using the Carvewright to build guitars and strumsticks...it seems to be perfect for my needs... I have a few easy ( for you guys ) questions.. I have designed a basic guitar shape and managed to import the jpg file... as I am playing around.. i get a message telling me that the selected bit is no good.. The boards I will be using are 13" wide 40"long and 2" thick... Can some one tell me, if I am going to be able to cut the basic guitar shapes ( elevtric guitars ) using the software & machine?... I am hoping that i can do the full 2D line art designes in Illustrator then import the jpg image... then simple apply the attributes to the diffrent edges, drill holes, carvings & routings etc? Am i expecting too much? is there anything else I should know?.. Any help is greatly appreciates...lol.. I can name a guitar Models after you if you can help?
Thansk in Advance
Imacman

c6craig
03-26-2010, 05:16 PM
Welcome aboard!

LiquidGuitars is the resident forum expert on all things guitar and violin, so if he doesn't post in this thread, you can always PM him for questions.

Do a search for posts created by him and you will see some of his fantastic creations, and many helpful tips he has provided, such as sled creation and such specifically geared toward your use.

The only thing I'm not sure of is being able to do a cut path 2" deep, due to the limitations of the bit. But you may be using something else to do the cuts with, or LG may have a fancy trick up his sleeve.

Good luck, and I look forward to seeing some of your work posted here!

Craig

PS - Be forewarned...don't get discouraged when you see his work....it will truly render you speechless....

jhatcher