PDA

View Full Version : Newbie

GWW805
03-20-2010, 05:45 PM
I am new to carvig and should be getting my machne next wek. What is the best wood to carve? Thanks for the advice.

Greg

Kenm810
03-20-2010, 05:59 PM
Hi Greg,

Welcome to the CW Forum

You can carve nearly any type of wood you like,
But the harder, tight grained woods are the best.
I personally like Cherry, Hard Maple, Red Oak.
I also do some of my less detailed signs and plaques from Poplar and select Pine.
Another nice wood is Red or Western Cedar -- it's a little soft and can be prone to chip-out,
but a sharp bit and a little Draft added to the text or fine lines will take
care of most of that on any type of wood you decide to use.
Read all you can on the form and ask questions,
But remember most of all have Fun carving. :wink:

GWW805
03-20-2010, 06:23 PM
Where do you guys get your woods? Do you order off of the internet? Who has the best prices?

Kenm810
03-20-2010, 06:34 PM
I get some of my wood at the Rockler or WoodCraft Stores,
but mostly from local Lumber yards, I Like to actually see in advance
what a buying and paying for. :cool:

Ps. Some folks that do order wood on-line
fine that the shipping cost can be prohibitive

b.sumner47
03-20-2010, 07:49 PM
Hi Greg, I also like to see my wood that I'm going to carve. I like to incorparate the grain in my carving, goes a long way sometime. Welcome Aboard. Thanks Capt.Barry.

lawrence
03-22-2010, 07:10 PM
Welcome-- it helps to know where you live-- I get all my wood from the sawmill or from wood/lumber retailers

Lawrence

CarverJerry
03-22-2010, 07:18 PM