PDA

View Full Version : How to make a barrel?

Ike
03-17-2010, 09:10 PM
Say does anybody have any ideas how to make barrel slats to make a barrel with the CW? I think the angles would be 22 1/2, but not sure? then it would be curved on the outside as well as the inside.

So what does the experts think? Can it be done?

Thanks,

Ike

spalted
03-17-2010, 09:28 PM
I'm far from an expert, but still willing to say what I think.

at 22.5 degrees you would only have 8 segments in your barrel.
I think to get the barrel shape I'm picturing (whiskey barrel) you would need 32 segments or more.
Also you could only have one inch of curve length wise in the segments.

I guess it would depend on how big you were going to make it.

It seems like it should be possible though, but not by me.....yet.

Kenm810
03-17-2010, 09:43 PM
Check Barrel Staves, there's a lot shaping involved in making them :wink:

Ike
03-17-2010, 09:52 PM
I'm far from an expert, but still willing to say what I think.

at 22.5 degrees you would only have 8 segments in your barrel.
I think to get the barrel shape I'm picturing (whiskey barrel) you would need 32 segments or more.
Also you could only have one inch of curve length wise in the segments.

I guess it would depend on how big you were going to make it.

It seems like it should be possible though, but not by me.....yet.

That is about right, I don't need it any wider then 10" maybe 12". Ken, staves that is what I was thinking of, but could not remember! I know it is a process, but I would like to try!

Ike

Ike
03-17-2010, 09:53 PM
Check Barrel Staves, there's a lot shaping involved in making them :wink:

Not much of an angle is there?

Ike

spalted
03-17-2010, 09:59 PM
That is about right, I don't need it any wider then 10" maybe 12". Ken, staves that is what I was thinking of, but could not remember! I know it is a process, but I would like to try!

Ike

You getting a new Saint Bernard?