PDA

View Full Version : Poor carving quality

campy76
03-07-2010, 09:46 AM
Hello,
I am relatively new to this machine, so I am hoping my problem is just user error. Even when I purchase a pattern from the carvewright store and place in on my piece in the design software, the finished piece has never come out as detailed as it looks on the software designer. Inevitably, if the piece is intricate, small pieces will have broekn off of the finished piece. Are there any suggestions out there?

Kenm810
03-07-2010, 12:22 PM
campy76,

What type of wood are you carving and at what depth,
a lot of low grade or wide grained woods carve poorly like Bass or Soft Pine.
Most hard woods or woods with tight dense grains carve better, like Cherry or Hard Maple.
Also you might need to add a little draft to your graphics or text to widen it's base and help prevent chip-out. :wink:

mtylerfl
03-07-2010, 06:17 PM
Hello,
I am relatively new to this machine, so I am hoping my problem is just user error. Even when I purchase a pattern from the carvewright store and place in on my piece in the design software, the finished piece has never come out as detailed as it looks on the software designer. Inevitably, if the piece is intricate, small pieces will have broekn off of the finished piece. Are there any suggestions out there?

TIPS to do before carving:

• Apply a small or medium Draft to patterns that have thin, raised areas - this applies a slight angled 'ramp' to the details of a pattern and helps reduce or eliminate chip-out issues

• Be sure to right-click the pattern and select "Bit Optimization: BEST" - this makes sure the carving bit's angle is compensated for and assures the pattern will carve as it was designed (this is a step VERY commonly missed by most beginners)