PDA

View Full Version : problem with the machine mesuring board

DougB
03-05-2010, 08:45 PM
First i'm a noob. I just got my machine a few days ago. but here's my problem. I'm laying out a progect 8"X 12". when i cut the board i'm adding 7" to the length and leaving the board at 11 5/8" wide . So the board that gets loaed into the machine is 11 5/8"x 19" . but when the machine measures it it shows 12.405 / 19.00 and scales my progect to fit a 12.4 length. Where am I going wrong ? Any help would be much appreciated. thanks in advance

AskBud
03-05-2010, 09:00 PM
First i'm a noob. I just got my machine a few days ago. but here's my problem. I'm laying out a progect 8"X 12". when i cut the board i'm adding 7" to the length and leaving the board at 11 5/8" wide . So the board that gets loaed into the machine is 11 5/8"x 19" . but when the machine measures it it shows 12.405 / 19.00 and scales my progect to fit a 12.4 length. Where am I going wrong ? Any help would be much appreciated. thanks in advance

I'm not sure how/why the board measures wider than your ruler, unless you have rails added to your wood, loaded the board wrong, or just measured wrong.

Slow down as you answer the machine questions/options!
You control what the machine will use.
If your actual board is larger/smaller than the design the unit will tell you, and "Offer" to "Scale" the project. You need to use the arrows (Up or down)
to select what you wish to do. Once you see the proper option, press the "Number" of that option. Read each screen to be sure you get all the options you want/need.
AskBud

DocWheeler
03-05-2010, 09:11 PM
Doug,

Given the sizes that you state, at the prompts tell it NOT to stay under the rollers and Place in the Center. That should set it carving for you.

If you tell it to stay under the rollers, it will add 7" to the Designer size and expect that much material (but displaying that sum minus 7" [12.4"]). I suspect that maybe the design is 12.4" with feathering?