PDA

View Full Version : More on Fonts

Juno2
08-03-2006, 02:13 PM
Fonts are strange critters. We are anxiously awaiting our CarveWright system, so I haven't had the opportunity to use fonts in this fashion YET. I am familiar with fonts since I am also a graphic designer for print publications, among other things. I imagine you will have some fonts that work better in different situations and some that you will want to avoid dealing with. Might be helpful if instead of wasting precious materials, get some that you don't mind wasting, and do up sample font pieces to see what you will get BEFORE cutting into a nice piece of wood.

I have a site to share that some may find helpful: www.dafont.com

These are PC & Mac friendly which is quite nice. I have used them in both OS and they seem to work fine. Here is the Disclaimer from their site, in case anyone has issues with font usage:

The fonts presented on this website are their authors' property, and are either freeware, shareware, demo versions or public domain. The licence mentioned above the download button is just an indication. Please look at the readme-files in the archives or check the indicated author's website for details, and contact him if in doubt. If no author/licence is indicated that's because we don't have information, that doesn't mean it's free.

Hope some will find this helpful

Aaron B
08-03-2006, 02:57 PM
Here is a thread that has some pics on it from someone that did some testing. I have used dafont.com before and its great, I love that site for fonts has a wide variety to chose from.

http://carvewright.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=286&highlight=fonts

pkunk
08-03-2006, 08:51 PM
I could be wrong, & I am on a Mac, but I believe the Designer program will only use 'true type fonts' that are resident on your computer. I tried a font from that site that I liked and it was not recognised in designer. I have no idea what Windoz requirements are.

Aaron B
08-04-2006, 07:34 AM