PDA

View Full Version : Apple Box Project

mark3
01-20-2010, 03:16 PM
Hi, I'm relatively new to the Carvewright. I have managed some carvings that I was successful with, but when I tried Jeff Birt's Apple Box, it was probably the first two sided carving I have done. It started carving on the back side, and did a good job. Then I flipped it end for end keeping the left and right sides as they were, and started the carving again. It carved the inside of the top of the box on the wrong side (where the bottom of the box was) and cut out the bottom of the box where the top was. I didn't believe it could do this, so had it carve a new board, with the same results. So then I went into the designer software and switched the sides with the cutout for the bottom where the inside top should be and the carved out top over the bottom of the box. I hope this isn't too hard to follow. It looked like a mess in the software, with carved holes in the box where there shouldn't have been any, but this was what I seen when I carved it. So I loaded the program and carved a board. It carved it properly. What's going on? Is there something I am missing?

atauer
01-20-2010, 03:24 PM
The way that you flipped the board was the problem. Instead of flipping it end over it, you should have flipped it left to right.

Michael Tyler, I believe, wrote an article discussing how to flip boards when doing a two-sided project. You can read it at:

http://carvewright.com/downloads/tips/CarveWrightTips&Tricks_Sept09.pdf

JMD
01-20-2010, 03:31 PM