PDA

View Full Version : Blank LCD

mikemi
01-16-2010, 07:12 PM
I have been enjoying my CW for about three years now, and have a great time with it. It is also my third machine.
I am having a problem with this one that has me stumped and I am hoping that some of you kind folks out there can tell what the problem is. Occasionally the LCD on the keyboard controller just goes blank. No, the contrast adjustment does not bring it back. It did it today on 2 out of 3 projects that I did. I was approximately 75% done with the carves and it does complete the carves.
I have tried pausing the carving and then restart but it does not help. The only way that I have found to get it to working again, is to turn the power switch off and then back on.
Hope someone has the answer. I have a couple of 5 hr carves coming up and I would hate for it to totally quit in the middle of one.

Thanks in advance,
Mikemi

rjustice
01-16-2010, 08:02 PM
Hi Mike,
Does this happen while you are cleaning the machine out in the middle of a carve?... I had static buildup from my shopvac knock my display out a couple of times just like you have described. This was before i knew about the static problem a couple years ago...

Ron

mikemi
01-16-2010, 08:32 PM
No it doesn't happen when cleaning out the system, in fact I won't use a shop vac to clean it out because of the static electricity the shop vac builds up. I use my air compressor, which has water traps installed.
Static elecitricity is a good point though. I life in an area where the humidity is usually very low.
Also, I wanted to let you know that the rock chuck is the very best thing that I have purchased for my CW. Thanks:-D

rjustice
01-16-2010, 09:01 PM
I would start checking for loose connections to and from the keypad next...

I am glad you are happy with the Rock Chuck System!

Ron

Jeff_Birt
01-16-2010, 10:01 PM