PDA

View Full Version : New to the Forum

will-munny
12-09-2009, 09:27 AM
Hi all,

Im thinking of purchasing one of these machines. I am a real estate agent and can never find the perfect housewarming gift, so im thinking why not make a custom sign for the people i work with. I can also probably pick up some business from other agents who want to give a gift at closing also, so i think it will kinda pay for itself. My question really is this. If i want to make a simple 24X8 sign with lettering, a nice edge, and maybe small clip art image, how complicated, how much time will it take ETC. Thanks for your input

cnsranch
12-09-2009, 09:35 AM
Take a look at the thread here...

http://forum.carvewright.com/showthread.php?t=4921&highlight=plaques

You can do a really nice sign in a couple of hours, especially if you have the "Centerline" option. You will have to spend some time sanding and finishing your projects.

Personally, I am not a fan of using the machine to rout edges on signs, I prefer a hand-held router.

All that said, a sign doesn't have to be super fancy to impress your customers - something like their names, and address will go a long way.

robbrigg2
12-09-2009, 09:54 AM
Hi all,

Im thinking of purchasing one of these machines. I am a real estate agent and can never find the perfect housewarming gift, so im thinking why not make a custom sign for the people i work with. I can also probably pick up some business from other agents who want to give a gift at closing also, so i think it will kinda pay for itself. My question really is this. If i want to make a simple 24X8 sign with lettering, a nice edge, and maybe small clip art image, how complicated, how much time will it take ETC. Thanks for your input