PDA

View Full Version : New to CW and need a little help

builder14
12-06-2009, 06:04 PM
Im new to this machine and i cant quite get it to do what i want.. I put in my board size and design my carve and once i upload it and take it to the machine it cuts the pattern much smaller than I have designed.. what am I doing wrong.... Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Frederick_P
12-06-2009, 06:07 PM
Hopefully this tutorial will help to solve your problem:
http://www.carvewright.com/downloads/tips/CarveWrightTips&Tricks_Mar09.pdf

builder14
12-06-2009, 06:13 PM
Thank you very much... Only had to read about three lines and I alredy see what I was doing wrong. You advice is very much appreciated.

PCW
12-06-2009, 06:15 PM
You more than likely told the machine to scale the project to the board size. This happens when your board is smaller than what was laid out in Designer.

If you run it again just say no when prompted to resize and answer no to stay under the rollers/yes to center the project on the board. Always make sure your board is at least 7" longer than the project to insure the board stays under the rollers.

AskBud
12-06-2009, 06:21 PM
Builder14,
Since you seem to be new to the Forum you may wish to check out lots of info.

Go to my signature, below, and click on the link to the "Download" items.
Enjoy,
AskBud

Ike
12-06-2009, 07:35 PM
Im new to this machine and i cant quite get it to do what i want.. I put in my board size and design my carve and once i upload it and take it to the machine it cuts the pattern much smaller than I have designed.. what am I doing wrong.... Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

I know you read the rule and I am not the biggest fan of directing all over the forum and like to give you an answer! You may be busy and not have time to read every post about using the rollers! As you found out you said yes to the rollers as a rule of thumb LHR recommends you add 7'' to your board 3.5" for each side.