PDA

View Full Version : Sears Purchase: Refurb vs New...

RandyG
11-13-2009, 10:02 PM
Total newb here :) Longtime lurker, first time poster!

I have been using a foamlinx cnc hotwire machine for years and have decided to sell it and move into wood. I am excited but scared to buy the CW! It seems you either like it or hate it beyond belief AND you let everyone know.

Now a simple question to the masses: I can afford a new machine from Sears and would go the route of the 5 year warranty to cut down on the many issues I know I will face down the road. The other thought is to save the $$ upfront and buy a refurbed with the understanding I will be spending on upkeep and fixing it. I have two sons who are heavy into Scouting activities and we plan on using it primarily for that.

Thoughts? New vs used... :)

Also, when I go to order one online they state it will take up to 23 days to get it. Is that normal for Sears?

Thanks in advance.

PS I love to take things apart and am pretty handy (years of RC airplanes) so fixing isn't a concern.

c6craig
11-13-2009, 10:06 PM
RandyG -

Welcome to the forum. This is a topic that has been talked in circles in many many posts with lots of opinions. My suggestion would be to use the search feature here for "reconditioned" and "refurb" and you will see some of them.

Leave some reading time, some of these posts go on for a while :)

Good luck with your decision and purchase. I'm sure whichever way you go you will enjoy the machine and it's capabilities.

Craig

dbfletcher
11-13-2009, 10:11 PM

I have been using a foamlinx cnc hotwire machine for years and have decided to sell it and move into wood. I am excited but scared to buy the CW! It seems you either like it or hate it beyond belief AND you let everyone know.