PDA

View Full Version : Spruce Goose II

cmorlier
05-19-2006, 06:00 PM
This is the latest installment in our example project series.

Britt and I hacked this little project together while doing final testing of the most recent software release. I had suggested a plane when Britt did his train, so this time around we decided to give it a go. I have a degree in Aerospace Engineering, so the best thing about this project was taking it home and telling my wife, "I finally got paid to design an airplane!". Unfortunately, like the original Spruce Goose this plane won't be doing much flying...unless you put it in your luggage.

This project combines cutouts with some creative use of surfaces.

For the fusalage, Britt found an image of the side view of a WWI biplane, which he traced using the spline tool. At points where he desired a sharper angle, he changed the Intersect type from "Spline" to "Normal" by right clicking on the vertex. To get straight lines, he changed the Form of the segment to "Line" also by going through the right-click menu. And at the bottom of the landing gear, he changed the Form of the segment into an "Arc".

The outline was adjusted to be more pleasing, and then we modified the outline to provide support for the upper wing and an indentation to accept the lower wing. We did not really try too hard to match the curvature of the lower wing, and if you look closely at where the bottom wing meets the body you will see it. In the attached project file for the body, I attempt to match the curvature a little better, but we have not attempted to recut body so it may need a little more work.

The shaping of body was achieved by using rectangular carved regions on both the front and back of the board. The rectangles were positioned to just touch one another. For the vertical tail, upper fuselage, and landing gear strut we just left the regions flat, with no surface applied. For the curved part of the fuselage, we applied a vertical dome.