PDA

View Full Version : The Newest Newbie

WesLA
10-13-2009, 09:04 PM
I am new to the CW/CC world and new to this forum. I bought a used CC machine after reading many good and bad reviews. I was a bit leery but felt I got a good enough deal that if it didn’t work out I wouldn’t be destitute. The machine I bought has less than 60 hours and the only problem was an overheated flexshaft. It also came with 2 extra carving and cutting bits and a scanning probe.

When thinking about the CC I thought it could blend three of my favorite hobbies, woodworking, computer art, and guitars. I have experience with AutoCad and Photoshop and figured that would help too. After reading some posts and reviews I did get a little nervous, sounds like a lot of people have a lot of problems.

Before I started I read a lot on this forum. You guys are great and very helpful! “Liquid guitars” is not only helpful in his posts but very inspirational in his work. As I started my first project, a sign for our camping club, I anticipated that there may be a few issues or delays. I made sure the CC was cleaned thoroughly and the flexshaft was lubed using high temp-moly lube. I put my board in, cranked it down, answered a few questions on the keypad and away it went. Five hours later out came my design! Not one problem!

I want to thank everyone who posts and replies on this site, your Q&A’s have helped me more than you know. Attached are pictures of my sign, carved and then finished.

Thanks to all, the newest Newbie, Wes

hogiewan
10-13-2009, 09:18 PM
nice job - the finishing looks fantastic!

c6craig
10-13-2009, 09:24 PM
WesLA -

Great job on the signs. Welcome to the world of CC/CW. Good luck with your machine and I look forward to seeing more of these great projects!

Congrats on taking the plunge! :)

Craig

Digitalwoodshop
10-13-2009, 10:03 PM
WOW... GREAT DESIGN !!!! I look forward to seeing more of your designs....

Welcome,

AL

hogiewan
10-13-2009, 10:06 PM