PDA

View Full Version : HVLP Newbie - Any Advice?

c6craig
10-11-2009, 10:57 AM
Hi all,

As the topic says , I picked up yesterday an Earlex Spray Station Pro 5000. I have never used a spray finisher before and realize it will take alot of practice on the massive amount of scap wood I have laying around. (Finally those 3" pieces from the board ends are good for something :) ).

It seems pretty straightforward but does anyone have any advice or gotcha's on using these? The main reason I got this is because I am not so good at finishing with stains and poly, thought this may help.

I've searched and researched but the what tips to use and if and how much to thin the material seems to escape me. I guess it's trial and error?

Thanks for all replies,
Craig

eromran
10-11-2009, 02:04 PM
Hi all,

As the topic says , I picked up yesterday an Earlex Spray Station Pro 5000. I have never used a spray finisher before and realize it will take alot of practice on the massive amount of scap wood I have laying around. (Finally those 3" pieces from the board ends are good for something :) ).

It seems pretty straightforward but does anyone have any advice or gotcha's on using these? The main reason I got this is because I am not so good at finishing with stains and poly, thought this may help.

I've searched and researched but the what tips to use and if and how much to thin the material seems to escape me. I guess it's trial and error?

Thanks for all replies,
CraigTry this link there are a lot of videos on the use use of it http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qUXAaJbrrX8 or go to youtube and type in Earlex Spray Station Pro 5000 and it will give you plenty of videos.Hope this helps.

c6craig
10-11-2009, 02:59 PM
Thanks Eromran,

The computer is out in the shop with two carvewrights running full steam so I can't hear anything right now :)

I will check these out tonight and see if I can learn a thing or two.

Craig

Digitalwoodshop
10-11-2009, 06:44 PM