PDA

View Full Version : Newbie Rock Chuck Question

Shacky
10-05-2009, 01:23 PM
My machine is scheduled to be delivered tomorrow. I am a total newbie. I have read about the rock chuck and don't know enough to have a good opinion on getting it.

My question is: Should I order one right away? Is it that much on an improvement that I should not fool around and just get one?

If you'd prefer, feel free to PM me your response.

Thanks!

cnsranch
10-05-2009, 01:38 PM
Every post I've read from those who now own the Rock have nothing but great things to say about it.

That said, I haven't gone to the dark side :mrgreen: still using the original QC that came with my machine.

I'm very pleased with the results my machine puts out, and really have no reason to change.

So, I guess I'd recommend that you stay with the machine as is, and if you experience problems, then make the change.

But, if my QC ever scroos the pewch, I'll be calling Ron.

Steven Alford
10-05-2009, 02:03 PM
I would make the change NOW before you use the original QC and cause any vibration damage. There are some people out there (myself included) that were able to get a lot of carve time on the QC without causing any problems, but why take the chance on something that we all now is not a good product.

DocWheeler
10-05-2009, 02:11 PM
Actually, if you happen to get a balanced QC or balance it yourself, they work very well. I have a balanced QC and a Rock.

Griz64
10-06-2009, 12:16 AM
That is exactly what I did. I ordered it before I even got my machine because of all the great things I read. I decided I wanted to see for myself if there was any improvement so I ran a quick 30 minute carve with the QC then changed to the RC and ran the same carve. Not really sure I could tell a quality difference but the noise was greatly reduced. I love my RC so far and would highly recommend it. I hope this helps in some way

Rick P
10-06-2009, 05:31 PM