PDA

View Full Version : Would like advice from sign makers

Griz64
10-01-2009, 01:55 AM
Hey guys, I was just wondering what you guys charge for your services? I am brand new to this but can see the potential of making money with it. I am just wanting to get some round figures right now because I have a looooooong way to go before I can charge people good money for this. If you would be willing to help me out with that I would greatly appreciate it.

Icutone2
10-01-2009, 09:06 AM
Hello, I charge $ 20.00 per hour for the machine time material is extra.
Lee

Digitalwoodshop
10-01-2009, 12:41 PM
4 times material...

AL

Ike
10-01-2009, 03:02 PM
Hey guys, I was just wondering what you guys charge for your services? I am brand new to this but can see the potential of making money with it. I am just wanting to get some round figures right now because I have a looooooong way to go before I can charge people good money for this. If you would be willing to help me out with that I would greatly appreciate it.

Griz, I do own a sign shop and if it helps I charge by the board foot. For example I have pre cut sign blanks 6", 8", 10", 12" wide 24" long. For residential signs I charge $30.00 to $35.00 a board foot depending on the amount of work. I.E. for a recessed letter with just black spray paint maybe a simple image $30.00. For raised lettering with color paint and or detailed image. $35.00.

This works for all sizes you take the thickness times the width times the length divided by 144. Simple example a 1" thick board 12" wide and 24" long = 2 board feet. 1 X 12 X 12 / 144...12 x 12 = 144 divided (/) by 144 = 1 board foot. Please take no offense if you know how to figure board feet and to everyone else who knows. This is for those who do not and wants to learn how. Another common misunderstanding I get from my customers they confuse the width of a board with the length.