PDA

View Full Version : Planing a finished surface?

c6craig
08-26-2009, 12:40 PM
Hi All,

Does anyone have any experience planing a finished surface? I have the lid from the keepsake box that is stained and sealed with poly. Unfortunately the board cupped a bit and now rocks on the box when I went to install the hinges. I just got a Dewalt DW735 planer and thought I might try to plane a couple 64ths off the bottom of the lid to get it to sit flat. I have never used a planer before and I am concerned that the stain and poly might foul up the planer....

I could always sand off the finish first and then plane it, but was curious if I could just go right for the planer. :)

Any thoughts or experiences appreciated...

Thanks,
Craig

jwhllh55
08-26-2009, 12:49 PM
Hi All,

Does anyone have any experience planing a finished surface? I have the lid from the keepsake box that is stained and sealed with poly. Unfortunately the board cupped a bit and now rocks on the box when I went to install the hinges. I just got a Dewalt DW735 planer and thought I might try to plane a couple 64ths off the bottom of the lid to get it to sit flat. I have never used a planer before and I am concerned that the stain and poly might foul up the planer....

I could always sand off the finish first and then plane it, but was curious if I could just go right for the planer. :)

Any thoughts or experiences appreciated...

Thanks,
Craig

Craig, It's time to go back to the old school. I have a DeWalt 735 too and I would not put a board with poly on it in that machine. The blades are very spendy and very hard to resharpen. It would be better to use a hand plan and shave it even that way. The size of the board has a lot to do with it too.
I have added mositure to a board and then put it into a press to have it dry flat. It works sometimes, but not always. I use a hand plan to finish and remove the cupping.. Hope that helps.
John

TIMCOSBY
08-26-2009, 01:14 PM