PDA

View Full Version : Scaling issues

albertk836
08-11-2009, 02:41 PM
First, I am new with the system.

I am carving a sundial I have made with the software.
Two of the lines of the sundial are missing on the output (board).

The manual on page 29 indicates I should see "Keep Original Size" , "Scale", or "Load New Board". I only see the last 2 options. I assume the missing lines are because of selecting the "Scale" option.
I used the machine to measure the board (afterwards) and saw it says the board is .051" smaller that the project board width. (10.5" by eye but the machine says 10.459")

The board is about 8" longer than the software board size so it will stay under the rollers.

My questions...

Do I setup the software's board size to what the machine measures it to?
or
Do I make sure the software's board size is always smaller than the actual board, (if so, which size: width, length or both)

The 3.5" required on each end of the board, should that be included in the software's board size?

I love the machine, just trying to figure it out...

Icutone2
08-11-2009, 02:48 PM
Welcome to the forum. When the board showes up narrower than the required or size in designer, I tape a 1/4 " piece of scrap the same thickness as the project board to the far side and in the mesuring area of the board and it sees it to be wide enough. Before carving I remove the piece and continue. Hope this helps it works for me.
Lee

Pratyeka
08-11-2009, 02:51 PM
put a piece of masking tape on one end of the board, centered, and make the machine think it is longer than it needs to be. 1/8" overhang will do. Then choose the "center on board" option.

cnsranch
08-11-2009, 03:01 PM
Welcome - you've really got a handle on your problem for being new to the machine...