PDA

View Full Version : Lines in my Lithos

noladude
07-10-2009, 12:35 PM
As a Professional Photographer I purchased my Carvewright primarilary as an addition to my photography services. The lithophanes I have been carving are blowing people away. The one issue I have and it has been mentioned by several clients also are the little black specs that can almost look like a 5 Oclock shadow on some faces. I am also getting noticeable lines in the lithos which are also annoying the hairs right off my chest!
I have been using .250 inch bone lexan which chips away nicely (I tried plexi for about 10 seconds).
I have also tried a dozen or so variations of photoshopping but I get the same results. I have scoured the forums and have not seen anything on this issue except for one gentleman who used plexi so I am discounting that one.
Any suggestions?
Do I need a new carving bit perhaps?
I am attaching a pic but I do not know if the issue will be visible given the amount of reduction. I shoot with a 24mp so reducing to 90kb tosses a LOT of info.
Anyway I have been lurking long enough and figured it was time to say hi.
HI!
Oh and HELP!

cnsranch
07-10-2009, 12:54 PM
Welcome!!

As you already have found out, the problem with doing a litho is that Designer can't show you what the finished product will look like.

However, any flaws in the photo itself will show if you look close enough - my only advice is to spend some time cleaning up the project with the pattern editor before carving.

Good luck

**EDIT**

I haven't carved a litho yet on optimum setting - my guess is that those pesky lines will all but go away (the carving bit will take smaller passes).

atauer
07-10-2009, 01:26 PM
another thing that can cause the pesky lines is the actual workpiece moving in the jig itself. What type of setup are you using to hold the workpiece? Are you staying under rollers?

Digitalwoodshop
07-10-2009, 01:30 PM