PDA

View Full Version : Wood Choice

waynethornton
06-22-2009, 09:36 PM
I have carving a few signs and designs into pine but get poor results even in the best mode. Is there certain woods that hadle small details better than others and if so, can someone please give me an idea ? Thanks for the forum and all the help as I am new to wood carving on the cw.
Thanks
Wayne
Houston

easybuilt
06-22-2009, 09:54 PM
I have found clear poplar does well and is a dense but softer wood so it is not had on your CW and the price is close to pine. By changing the cut "quality" makes a big difference on your cuts and less to clean up.

b.sumner47
06-22-2009, 11:28 PM
I have had good results with poplar as well. I've just finished a sign for my church,used red cedar-nice . Picture to follow soon. Capt.Barry

ChrisAlb
06-23-2009, 05:59 AM
I also use poplar and I like it albeit it's rather stringy and leaves more fuzzies. However, most of my carvings are done in yellow pine and I get great results.

It has everything to do with your depth and height settings. Very tall text and tall, thin sections of patterns will chip regardless of the wood used. The proper use of "draft" is also a big help. The image the pattern was made from is a BIG factor as well.

I've carved (many times) raised raster text in pine as small as 1/2" high and 1/4" wide with no problems. Tilting your board so you see it from an angle is a great way to see the heights change while adjusting height and depth. You want to keep small, thin parts close to bottom.

Do a search on "Chipping" for a lot more info on it covered by myself and many others.

mark1945
06-23-2009, 11:15 AM
I do alot of mine in yellow pine or red cedar,both carve great in optimum setting.Just carved a clock in sycamore it is awsome wood for ease of clean up.Have never had good luck with poplar only source for me is lowes or home depot,not impressed with either, to soft and fuzzy for me.

mtylerfl
06-23-2009, 11:02 PM