PDA

View Full Version : Set-up for using different bits

glassocean
05-30-2009, 02:00 PM
Hello,
Newbie here. I'm wondering how to program in the use of 2 different bits for one project. I want to cut out a simple circle, so I'm starting with the 1/16" carving bit. The hole ends up being tapering because of the bit shape. How can I program it to clean up the circle (make it straight all the way thru) with a 1/8" straight bit?

Thanks
Jeff

DocWheeler
05-30-2009, 02:34 PM
glassocean,

You can assign a bit to each line you draw - actually you can assign two bits to a single line if you chose a different function like cut-out.

If all you want to do is produce a round hole, say 2", you would select "circle", size it, select cut-out, select flip or not, select the number of tabs to hold the cutout in position, and jiggle the offset/inset if you wish.

HTH

Digitalwoodshop
05-30-2009, 03:23 PM
I just used Cut Path to cut out a oval sign and when you select the cut path look at the options it gives you to control the depth of cut.

A Cut Path will cut all the way through

A Circle then assign a 1/8 straight bit lets you assign the depth of the cut so you could cut all the way through or only cut down 1/2 inch. The DANGER in using this method of cutting through is that the last cut does not leave tabs to hold the wood block and if it flops around it will snap a bit.

In this mode you can also control how deep it cuts in each pass by selecting something like .25 or 1/4 inch at a time.

Same with a Cut Path. By default it will drill all the way through and then cut full depth around your circle leaving tabs. Today I cut one sign and used .25 as the depth of cut. The Speed of the Cut Path is very QUICK so with the second sign I changed the depth of cut to .20

Be sure to read Tips and Tricks as it has a bunch of stuff you need to know like the 7 inch rule of wood, Tabs, Sleds and Carrier Boards.

Cut path uses the 1/8 inch cutting bit or you can buy a 1/16 inch cutting bit.