PDA

View Full Version : Scale question

PNAB
05-14-2009, 11:45 AM
Hello All, I am still very new to the machine and have alot of figure out.
My question is it take a pattern or an item I scanned and go to carve it I can not get the scale right. How can I make sure that the measurements of a finished item will be the same size of what I scanned or imported?

I need the scale to be 1 to 1 and I always end up way off. How do I measure the item in the software?

Thanks

cnsranch
05-14-2009, 12:09 PM
Hi

IF your real board is the same width of the board in Designer, and it is 7 inches longer than Designer's board, you shouldn't have any problems. If it is even a tiny bit shorter, or narrower, you'll have scaling problems.

I always make my board a little wider than the one in Designer, and a little bigger than the 7 inches need to stay under the rollers.

When the machine measures your board, if it's smaller than the one in Designer, it will ask you to scale the project to fit the board - that's not good.

If you follow my method, the machine will measure the board, then ask you to center the project (yes), cut board to size (no) stay under rollers (yes), you're good to go.

AskBud
05-14-2009, 12:29 PM
You have several options as you design your carve.
The picture, attached below, shows the use of Grids and where you find the measurements for the height and length of your item.
I'm also including an 48.1 MB AVI Video on Determining the size of an Object.
http://www2.wcoil.com/~nharbison/cw-determine%20object%20size.zip

If you go to my signature, below, you will find a wealth of tutorials and links to help you in your work.
AskBud

mtylerfl
05-14-2009, 08:26 PM
Don't forget that you need to tightly crop your scan before saving it as a pattern.

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -