PDA

View Full Version : help needed to finish wood

bdehoyos
04-28-2009, 02:31 PM
Hi,

I'm doing a multi piece carve basically the cave has 6 parts to form the end result,

Each part is a 12" by 12" carve, at the end the intention id to form a mosaic type finish product.

I was able to create the projects and the borders do match exactly as expected I have carve the first 2 test pieces pot of oak , I place them next to each other and they align perfectly.

I stained the first and let it dry, for some reason (here I'm admitting I'm no expert just a weekend amateur) the stained piece cupped a little not a lot, just enough so it does not rest flat on its back.

So here is were I need your advice on how to prevent the wood from twisting or cooping,

What sating techniques can I use? Or where do I find goo literature about it?

Thanks

cnsranch
04-28-2009, 03:05 PM
Wood is always going to move, there's really nothing you can do about it.

That said, inlays, or veneers are very thin strips of wood that are glued to a backer board of some kind. They're so thin, even though they do move, they're glued in place, and the movement doesn't show - almost like the movement is completely stopped.

If you look at an intarsia project, the edges of each piece of wood are curved, tapered, etc. That really allows wood movement without the movement showing.

Finally, when you carve a piece of wood in the CW, the result is a piece with many different lengths of fibers - the grain of the wood. The longer grains will move more than the shorter, cut grains, etc. So, you can take two 12x12 pieces of wood, carve one, leave the other, and one will move more than the other.