PDA

View Full Version : Best method of planning a board

miragese
03-13-2009, 10:16 AM
I work in a warehouse and I get some good hard wood boards. They need to be planned. What is the best bit.

Dan-Woodman
03-13-2009, 10:36 AM
If you don't have a planer, just make a little larger carve region around your project, set the depth to whatever will clean the board up. Probabley .020 or if it's warped , build a sled , plane it flat with a carve region. Only bad thing is , it puts a lot of additional hrs. on CW.
later Daniel

miragese
03-14-2009, 12:27 AM
I was afraid of that. I have a friend with a planner but he does not live next door.

eromran
03-14-2009, 08:17 AM
Since the subject of planners was brought up. I've been debating between a dewalt dw735 or dw734. Does anybody use ether of these and is the 735 worth the extra money. What is everyone else using and how do you like. Also I'm basically talking about bench top or portable. If any one has a used one fill free to PM me. THANKS

andes
03-14-2009, 08:34 AM
Ed, I purchased a Delta planer, saved some money and not too much differ. Read this http://www.woodcentral.com/bparticles/deltavsdewalt.shtml

Don't get me wrong, I love dewalt, most of my hand tools are dewalt. But I decided to go with the delta and save some cash ;-}

usd5000000
03-14-2009, 08:42 AM
Hello Ed,

I own the DW733 and I can tell you it does a very nice job. Fine woodworking had a nice review of it:

http://www.taunton.com/finewoodworking/ToolGuide/ToolGuideProduct.aspx?id=5409

The surface quality is excellent. Little snipe, of course, if you don't support long boards well.

The DW734 is the generation after, but I'm not sure if it planes better.

I personally have lusted after the 735 and had considered selling my 733, but I'm not sure I can justify the extra size now. The main things I liked were the large capacity, disposable blades and better dust management.