PDA

View Full Version : Need help with letter painting techniques

PlateCarver
03-12-2009, 06:59 PM
I am fairly new to carvewright and have made a few signs. One of the challenges is getting cleanly painted letters on the sign. I looked at the numerous threads here and quite a lot of help but....

I am using Popular for a majority of the signs. I am sanding the surface before I carve ( I use centerline text) and once done I am covering the surface with a sealer, allow to dry and then use spray paint to cover the letters. Once it is dry (at least 24 hrs) I sand down the sign to only show the painted letters. The problem is that I am still getting a lot of bleeding into the surrounding wood and trying to sand it out takes me too deep. Any ideas on how to limit the "bleed"?

oclatta
03-12-2009, 07:16 PM
I put on two coats of polyurethane with a brush to make sure that I get good coverage in the recess.

PlateCarver
03-12-2009, 07:34 PM
is that before you paint the letters? So you coat the carved board first then paint, then sand?

b.sumner47
03-12-2009, 07:45 PM
That is the way I do it.Two good coats before the letters then sand.Good Luck,Capt.Barry

oclatta
03-12-2009, 07:50 PM
Yes. This works if you are just going to leave the board natural.

If I'm going to stain the board and not be able to sand off the overspray, I have my wife, who has steady hands and a lot of patience, paint the recesses of the letters with artist brushes.

Kenm810
03-12-2009, 07:54 PM
I'm having pretty good luck with carving the text and giving it and the surface of the project a two coats of sanding sealer,
then when it's totally dry I use indoor/outdoor acrylic Latex for the text (it doesn't seem to bleed into the wood grain as much as some other paints),
next sand the entire surface to clean any drips, then one more coat of sealer over all,
and lastly the acrylic latex color for the surface of the sign.

Mike Witt
03-12-2009, 08:10 PM