PDA

View Full Version : Lettering heigth

gumbo
03-08-2009, 06:57 PM
I am quite new to this so forgive me if i am missing something stupid. I was doing a lettering test project, the letters are in the center of the board with a carve region around the letters and a small margin around the outside edges of the board. I had the carving depth set at 0.25" and the heigth set at 999 shouldn't the top of letters be the same as the margins of the board (uncut by the carving bit)? I have read that some people are making two colored signs by painting, covering with contact paper, carving and then painting the parts without the contact paper. but if I can't get the carver to not carve the highs of the letters this will not work of coarse. It also seems that it carves the levt side a fraction deeper than the right side. Is there any adjustment or calibration for this?

Thanks in advance.

Ike
03-08-2009, 07:16 PM
Gumbo, could you post your mpc? If you raise your cutting region higher then the letters then they will blend in or cancel out each other. Do you mean two toning letters? I have done this often I just paint the whole letter say white and then half with another color. I take a 3" roller and cut it to about 1" and then use a c clip or tape to keep the roller from slipping back. Then I torch the feathers on the edge.

Anyway let us see the mpc to help with the letters.

Ike

AskBud
03-08-2009, 07:27 PM