PDA

View Full Version : Reconditioned or New??? & HEAD PRESSURE Tip

Outerside
02-22-2009, 06:46 PM
Bought Recondition ran into many problems. Was told by many pro’s hear to read this and that. I have read it all before, during and after. Finally toke it back and bought it New.

WOW very nice machine!!

Been using it for 1-2 weeks now ran into one problem.

HEAD PRESSURE 47.5lbs!!

I went through the manuals and forums and did everything that was said and went to 51 lbs. What the #$%^ piece of &^@$ machine. Tried again and again.

Then a light popped in my head.

(Before I say any more I am not a pro at this machine so please respect the advice from the manuals first and use this tip for last resort.)

Went to ACE Hardware bought a dollar spring. It was about 1.5” in length closet match. Replaced the spring in the Crank Assembly and the pressure went to 132lbs. Cut it down and I am at 86lbs with two clicks.

Tom75
02-22-2009, 06:56 PM
good job . when i had a head presser problem i took the crank handle off and sprayed a little bit of white lithium grease in it and cranked the Handel up and down to fix the problem . like i said good job i will have to make a note of what you did if it happens again . have a good night.:D

Deolman
02-22-2009, 10:26 PM
I understand the fix you made now gives the proper head pressure but I think you are putting undue stress on things.

My head pressure was at 55 lbs and I went through the following procedure.

First I cleaned and lightly lubricated the 4 vertical posts and the two screws that move the head.

Then I verified the head was level and not uneven as it relates to a board.

next I went here:

http://forum.carvewright.com//attachment.php?attachmentid=6161&d=1191280559

and downloaded the troubleshooting guide.

On page 8 of this guide I followed the instructions under:

"Please Load Board Prompt Occurs"