PDA

View Full Version : Fuzzies? Here's a tip...

djarboe
02-13-2009, 03:45 PM
This is probably already known to many, but wanted to share something that worked for me.

I carved a plaque from maple, and ended up with a lot of fuzzies. After trying a torch (lightly), the tiny fuzzies were gone, but the larger ones remained. Not wanting to char my piece (well, I actually did in a couple of tiny spots), I started playing with a number of alternatives. I even considered getting an abrasive air brush or making a vibratory polisher.

What I ended up trying, and it worked, is taking the carving "chips" out of my shop vac, putting them on the plaque, and then scrubbing the surface with a tooth brush. It takes a little time, but is sure much faster than trying to sand. I scrub in several different directions, and then in small circles. I just make sure there are plenty of carving chips in the area I am scrubbing.

Just passing this along...

atauer
02-13-2009, 03:57 PM
I haven't ever tried that before. I think I may give it a shot. I can see how the dust would act as an abrasive. Using a power toothbrush would work as well. I know that one of the members here had put a small piece of snadpaper on a spinning toothbrush and was using that, but I have never heard of using sawdust.

I think I'll give it a shot on my next test carve.

The call center tries to run one test a week, just to keep fresh on the machine and its functions.

djarboe
02-13-2009, 04:14 PM
It's not perfect, but a lot better than sanding. What made me try it is that I remembered wood chips, walnut shells, etc. are sometimes used in tumblers for surface cleaning/polishing of metal parts without causing surface damage. This approach allows you to even get in tiny recesses and crevices. Plus, it vacuums off easy, and you don't have to worry about embedded abrasive coming out later.

Give it a try. As I said, not perfect... but better and quicker than anything else I could come up with.