PDA

View Full Version : Total noob with a practicality question

Sarge43
01-27-2009, 04:05 PM
I am actively saving for a carvewright and plan on purchasing one in the next few weeks. Having never worked with one, I have a question about whether this machine can accomplish one of the things I would like it to do.
I make pistol grips. They are down to 1/4" thick at times and go up from there. Can I affix these to a board and use the carvewright machine to carve things like initials, small relief items etc into the grips? Can it scan and go with the curvature of the grips surface? I figure I'd ask some experts, and who should know better than the users here?
Thank you in advance for your help.
Sarge

Edit: I guess I should state that I plan on purchasing the scanning probe with the machine. Bet you already figured that out though.

cnsranch
01-27-2009, 04:09 PM
Search "pistol"

You'll get a ton of info.

badger
01-27-2009, 04:51 PM
Its possible to scan the type of grips you want and carve new grips instead of carving something onto an already made grip.

You would use the scanned grip as your pattern.

sweliver
01-27-2009, 05:07 PM
Once you get the hang of it you can practically place anything anywhere. I've scanned a whole bunch of stuff from doll house sized ballisters to kayak paddle blades. All came out great. Once in Designer, add text, other ptn's, etc.

Right now I'm busy designing pen-type boxes with a double dome surface on the lid plus one or more ptn's and/or texts. You just have to experiment with the carve region depth and height to get the look you're looking for. Carve a couple practice pieces to make sure the final output is how it appeared in designer, tweak, and voila. btw your first practice carve can be in draft or good. Best adds another half hour at least for complex carves. It's more important for me to see how all the elements are positioned vs how smooth or exact each ptn or text carves. So use cheap wood and lower quality for the test carves.