Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: how would this carve?

1. Default how would this carve?

I am a newbie and am embarking on a large (for me) project. Before I invest any significant money in wood (or 4 hours of time to carve!), I was wondering if anybody with experience could offer insight as to how this design would carve, or where a problem may arise. I designed the sign for a friend using CorelDraw X3. It is fairly large, ideally 10.5-11" x 18" x 0.75-1" thick. I would likely use cherry or oak, based on what I've read on the forums. Anybody have any input for me? Thanks in advance for anything you can tell me.
    Attached Files Attached Files

#R

Remember that you created the "whole" thing in Corel as a vector, then made it into a PTN via raster. Great looking sign, BUT, since everything is going to be carved using the 1/8" carving bit, and you have a 1" thick board being carved to a depth of 1/2". Your bit is going to really cut into your text characters (especially the smaller ones) As you probably used Corel's plethora of fonts, why now use those same fonts in Designer and only use the carving for perhaps your border, and or coffee cup and tree and make the depth 0.125 (1/8") or certainly no more than 0.25 (1/4") the tree and cup being a bit larger in order to allow for the carving if you choose the 0,25 depth.

Use your Text tool in Designer, choosing the same fonts you used in Corel, remember that if you Outline or Center Line cut it'll do it in vector (no carving bit problem if text is large enough for cutting bit for outline cut. If it's Center Line cut, then no problem at all providing you use the 60° bit for the smaller text. I'd use raster (standard text carving tool) for the larger text, but remember that the deeper the carve the wider the carve will be which is important to consider when spacing the characters and the shape of the "donut" holes of some characters